Released: July 2, 1996

Pearl Jam, Beck, Beastie Boys, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Paul McCartney, Snoop Dogg and members of Rage Against the Machine, Everclear, Brian Setzer with Brian Wilson, Butthole Surfers, Chris Isaak, Smashmouth, Lit, Lisa Loeb, among many others form the strongest roster yet for MOM 3: Music for Our Mother Ocean benefiting the Surfrider Foundation. The record is chock full of new and unreleased songs donated by the artists who are concerned about protecting the world’s oceans, waves and beaches.

The album is out on Surfdog Records and will be distributed by Hollywood Records. Over two-thirds of the album’s songs are specially recorded and previously unreleased songs with an ocean, surf, or summertime theme.

MOM is such a cool collection of bands and vibe that we wanted to be part of it. We are Summer people. We surf. We skate. We grew up at the beach. We care.
— Greg Camp of Smash Mouth

New and unreleased songs on MOM 3 include Whale Song by Pearl Jam, Little Deuce Coupe by Brian Setzer and Brian Wilson, Electric Music and the Summer People by Beck, Nothing to Say by the Beastie Boys, Snoop Bounce by Snoop Dogg and members of Rage Against the Machine, Summer in the City by the Butthole Surfers, How Strong by the Red Hot Chili Peppers, Winter Waves By Chris Isaak, Here Comes the Sun by Allison Moorer, Summer by Lisa Loeb, Mother by Smash Mouth, Wicked Man by Ben Harper, Coconut by Sprung Monkey and Money by Lit.

The album also features Wildlife by Paul McCartney (Paul’s son is a big surfer), Walk Don’t Run by Everclear, Gaia by James Taylor, and Ocean Size by Jane’s Addiction (re-mixed by the Butthole Surfers).

The motto of Surfdog is “Please Preserve Our Oceans”. I am really stoked & honored to get to work with all the artists & the Surfridrer Foundation on MOM3.
— Dave Kaplan, Surfdog Owner

Keeping the grass roots soul attitude and altruistic intent of the record has been central to the MOM 3 project.

Dave Kaplan and I traveled to Fiji on a surfing trip to mentally prepare for and plan MOM 3. MOM 3 really reflects the spirit of the oceans that we are trying to preserve.
— Pierce Flynn, Surfrider Foundation Chairman of the National Advisory Board

In 1996, the Surfrider Foundation, an international ocean conservation organization, partnered with Surfdog Records in order to create MOM, for which Pearl Jam, The Beastie Boys, Jewel, No Doubt, Sublime and the Ramones, among many others, contributed original songs. MOM 2 included songs from The Offspring, Brian Setzer Orchestra, Jewel, 311, the Mighty Mighty Bosstones, and Porno for Pyros.

To date, the MOM albums have raised nearly $500,000, the largest donations in the foundation’s history, for Surfrider Foundation’s water quality monitoring, educational, legal and international beach clean-up and restoration programs and campaigns.

The artists, Surfdog Records and the MOM projects have changed the face of Surfrider Foundation
— Pierce Flynn

The funds have allowed Surfrider Foundation to launch critical support of the B.E.A.C.H Bill, which is legislation for ocean water quality, which now has passed the U.S. House of Representatives and is up for vote in the U.S. Senate this summer; launch the national program Respect the Beach, a nationwide educational program for school children and Internet users on protecting the oceans, waves and beaches from pollution and trash; and train and empower local citizens who comprise Surfrider chapters in 43 cities to become community leaders in ocean conservation and coastal politics.

The MOM 3 CD booklet, printed on recycled paper and created to be an eco-friendly package, is a beautiful collection of ocean and surf photography by world-renowned photographer Jeff Divine. The Surfrider Foundation has included “eco-facts” and “ocean-activist items” for those wishing to get involved in battling ocean pollution, overfishing of sharks and swordfish, and the loss of beach and surf environments.

“MOM 3 rocks with unbridled fury” said Kaplan and Flynn. “And the oceans are the better for it!” Excellent!

Track Listing
  1. Opening
  2. Sprung Monkey – Good Times
  3. Pearl Jam – Gremmie Out of Control
  4. Brian Setzer – Honky Tonk
  5. Ramones – California Sun
  6. Porno for Pyros – Bali Eyes
  7. Pennywise – Surfin’ USA
  8. Silverchair – Surfin’ Bird
  9. Gary Hoey & Donavon Frankenreiter – Wipeout
  10. Common Sense – Never Give Up
  11. Reverend Horton Heat – I Can’t Surf
  12. Pato Banton – Mama Nature
  13. Primus – Mr. Know It All
  14. No Doubt – Sailin’ On
  15. Helmet – Army of Me
  16. Soundgarden – My Wave
  17. Jewel – Quiet Warrior
  18. Everclear – Hateful
  19. Seven Mary Three – Blackwing
  20. Beastie Boys – Netty’s Girl
  21. Sublime – Bad Fish
  22. Blink-182 – Waggy
  23. Closing
Be The First To Hear About Surfdog Updates